There are three different types of glaucoma:

  1. Primary Open-Angle Glaucoma
  2. Angle-Closure Glaucoma
  3. Primary Congenital Glaucoma

Primary Open-Angle Glaucoma

When your eye’s drainage canals are gradually blocked over time preventing aqueous humor from leaving the eye, you are suffering from primary open-angle glaucoma. About three million Americans suffer from this type of glaucoma, making it the most common form of the disease. This form usually responds well to medication if treated early.

Angle-Closure Glaucoma

When the physical structure of your eye is changed, the drainage canals can become suddenly blocked or pinched. Angle-closure glaucoma happens rather quickly. Symptoms range from headaches, eye pain, nausea, blurred or cloudy vision, red eye, or even feeling as if your eye is swollen. These symptoms can be severe and need to be treated right away.

Primary Congenital Glaucoma

This form of glaucoma is present at birth and usually diagnosed within the first year of life. It occurs when the drainage canals are not properly formed. Surgical treatment is painless to the patient and will be performed when the patient is sleeping.

Call us today for an evaluation or to see if you qualify to participate in one of our cutting edge clinical trials.

Contact Us

Our Locations

South Miami

5858 SW 68 St.
Miami, FL 33143

Palmetto Bay

9299 SW 152nd St., Ste 101
Miami, FL 33157


925 NE 30 Terrace Ste. 216
Homestead, FL 33033


8250 NW 27 St., Unit 311
Doral, FL 33122

Ocean Reef Office

50 Barracuda Lane
Key Largo, FL 33037

Center For Eye Surgery

6660 SW 117 Ave
Miami, FL 33183

Make a Payment